School District Leaders Honored during Founders’ Day

School District Leaders Honored during Founders’ Day  thumbnail164907

The Bellmore Elementary PTA presented 12 individuals with New York State PTA Honorary Life Membership Awards during the annual Founders’ Day Celebration, held at the Charles A. Reinhard Early Childhood Center on Feb. 13. Honorary NYS State PTA Honorary Life Memberships are given to those who have made a significant contribution to the welfare of children and have demonstrated outstanding service to the school community.
Additionally, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Joseph Famularo was presented with a National PTA Life Achievement Award, the highest honor the PTA can bestow and which pays tribute to individuals who demonstrate exemplary service in support of children. PTA Co-President Chantal Dembo also received the NYS PTA Distinguished Service Award for her faithful and tireless dedication and exceptional service on behalf of the PTA, children and education.
In his opening remarks, Dr. Famularo noted that the Founders’ Day Celebration recognizes what it really means to be a Bellmore Star. “Founders’ Day is a recognition of leaders who go beyond to connect and inspire,” he said. To the PTA he said, “Thanks for the support in this district and of our mission.”   

After each recipient was called to the stage by co-presidents Barbara LaGalia and Chantal Dembo, family members filed onto the stage with flowers and embraces. Under the baton of Laura Itzkovitz, the Shore Road Musical Theatre & Ukulele Club gave the audience a preview of the spring musical and performed musical numbers on their instruments. The Bellmore Star Chorus added celebratory notes to the occasion with performances of the “Leadership Song” and the theme song from “Muona,” under the direction of teachers Randi Andersen, Maria Martucci and Laura Itzkovitz and with choreography by Mallory Aronoff. There was also a finale performance by The Belltones, a band comprised of music teachers and Dr. Famularo.
The Bellmore PTA and school community congratulate the following life member recipients: Mallory Aronoff, inhouse choreographer and physical education teacher, districtwide; Denise Cerrotta, PTA volunteer and former PTA vice president; Desiree Cuttitta, student and office support, Shore Road; Annie Craine, special education teacher, Winthrop Avenue; Christine Davison, social worker, Shore Road; Sarah Flynn, PTA volunteer; Lauren Giordano, kindergarten teacher, C.A. Reinhard; Lisa Goldberg, Spanish teacher, C.A. Reinhard; Alexandra Grodin, fourth grade teacher, Winthrop Avenue; Christopher Merz, fourth grade advanced learners and Bellmore Faculty Organization president, Winthrop Avenue; Alison Prainito, Shore Road; KerriAnn Sanpietro, prekindergarten and special education teacher, C.A. Reinhard.